#37 an ASDA RAK

A late evening trip to Asda was the next opportunity for a Random Act of Kindness. The spur of the moment took me and, alongside my teabags and toilet roll, I put a gift card on the coveyer belt.

In the meantime, two ladies arrived having done what looked like a weekly shop. One of the ladies was disabled and I inwardly panicked that it would be seen as an act of pity rather than a Random Act of Kindess. However, my decision was made and the gift card was already on the belt.

When The cashier was scanning through my shopping she thought that I was paying for my shopping with the giftcard and took the display card from the back of it. Realising her mistake she asked if it was a gift and I replied how it wasn’t a problem.  I put £5 on the card and packed my shopping in my bag.  I was shaking a little (these sorts of RAK make me nervous) and was texting messages like “proper nervous” to LJM2.

Once I’d packed and paid I gave the cashier the gift card back and asked her to take it off the shopping of the people behind. “What, theirs?” she replied, confused. I told her it was a Random Act of Kindess and turned and walked away (rather briskly I should add !).

This was a truly random act and no matter who had come up behind me in the checkout queue the outcome would have been the same. I hope it was well received.

Leave a Reply

