Let’s go for a JungleJog… RAK #34

As someone who has lost a parent to a dreadful disease, it always pulls on my heart strings when I hear about someone who has gone through similar.

I won’t say where I heard about @junglejog as it might reveal my identity, but this person is raising money by completing an ultra marathon through the jungle in Peru for Huntington’s Disease.  Huntington’s is a degenerative genetic disorder and @junglejog has a 50% chance of having it. He has already has lost a parent and siblings to this disease. Losing a parent is bad enough; I can’t  imagine losing other family members as well as having the threat of the disease myself.

I am in awe of anyone who can run a marathon let alone an ultra marathon! It makes my British Heart Foundation marathon in a month look like a stroll down the drive!

I will be following @junglejog for updates & wish him the best of luck!

You can donate here and view information about Huntington’s here.

Leave a Reply

